Overwhelmed

I know that I would never have been able to make it through the pain and drama of the last few years without you guys, but holy smokes y’all just blew me away!  To know that my post actually brought tears to your eyes, I’m tearing up right now just thinking about it.  It’s seriously an overwhelming, tangible, outpouring of support.  I don’t even know how to begin to thank you all for that.   Knowing that even some of you from the China adoption community still read me means a lot to me.  I mean, you all mean a lot to me, but when China booted us out and then Guatemala closed and it seemed like every blogger I knew started having children I felt a little like someone without a home, a community.  It’s just nice to know y’all haven’t forgotten about me.

I can’t wait to share our experiences with you all.  We have 8+ weeks of classes ahead of us. That’s many hours of blog material right there!

So, now that a child is on the way, things are going to change around here. While I’m pretty open about a lot of things I still want to be able to protect my child’s privacy.  I’ll post pics of him/her but I won’t post their real name.  Just like how CSP wasn’t born Cap’n Safety Pants, our child will be known on my blog by a nickname.  I will also be removing the link to my Facebook page once the little dude or dudette comes home, so if we aren’t FB friends now, and you’d like to be, then skip on over there with a quickness.

I’ve read a bunch of mommy blogs, most great, some a little disturbing.  I know I’m guilty of over sharing, but it’s amazing what some people will put on the internet.  I don’t know everything, but I know that there’s a good chance that my children will read what I’ve written here and the last thing I want is for them to be embarrassed.

I have some figuring out to do, but it sure is nice to know y’all will be there for me along the way!

7 thoughts on “Overwhelmed

  1. Woo hooooo!!! So thrilled this is happening for you at last! Couldn’t be more happy. Big hugs to you and CSP, my friend.

  2. “A child is on the way” … can you believe that you’re typing that phrase?!?

    I’m *so* happy for you guys. You’ll be great parents. I share a lot on the Internet ~ pictures of our kids, their real names, etc. I don’t know what’s going to happen when they’re older and might have blogs of their own and can read what I’ve written! hehe 🙂 They might find it interesting, to see what I wrote about and what journeying into parenthood was like. Although, maybe when they reach that age, I’ll change my blog URL and blog somewhere else. I don’t know ~ haven’t thought that far ahead yet! 🙂

  3. I have kept up with your site (and FB) but I never comment. We are from the China and Vietnam community and I have followed you for YEARS. So I am very happy to see a baby is in your very near future!! Good luck and I can understand not using real names. I use my maiden name on FB since I had an open blog for so long and used my kids names and the city we lived in. Just seemed a little creepy to give out ALL that information to anyone that had ever e-mailed me.

    Tracy

  4. I post pics of my girls..but use a nickname. mostly because Jasmin’s mother freaked the heck out once. whatever. Its to keep the peace.

    soooo super excited for yall, and cant wait to hear all about your process.

  5. You sound so excited and nervous all in the same breath. This must be such a happy time for you to finally get to the light at the end of a long tunnel. I read your blog for so long and if it had not been for that Hot Chocolate contest, I probably would never have commented. I am so happy for you and CSP and of course the Pugs…..this is going to be a wonderful time for you. I can’t wait to read your blogs for the next 8 weeks or so…….you are so good at writing on here and I really look forward to your posts.

  6. don’t be overwhelmed….once all this is past you…it’ll just be a memory. We have 4 adoptions, 2 failed, 1 pregnancy, 2 miscarriages under our belt….if I can help in any way, shape or form…let me know…..

Comments are closed.