Still cruising

Wednesday was the 3rd day of our cruise.  That was the day we were in Nassau.  Nassau in the Bahamas Tuesday in Coco Cay Nanny twisted her knee in the choppy water.  So she wasn’t in the mood to leave the ship.  Fine with me as we’ve both been there many times. We had breakfast with a whole bunch of people.  You have breakfast and lunch with strangers each time if you eat in the main dining room.  Our breakfast mates were hilarious. There was this one elderly couple who were just cracking us up.  They were from Yonkers but now live in Florida.  Seemed like everyone we met was from up North but lived in Florida now.  Anyway, this couple, Mickey & Ruth were both in their 90s.  They go on one or two cruises a month.  They have already booked a cruise on the new Oasis of the Seas, the largest ship in the world.  I asked where were they going on the cruise on the Oasis of the Seas?  Ruth said “Who knows? We don’t care where we go. We just cruise for the food and the shows.” Love it!

We spent the day exploring the ship,Me in the elevator on the Monarch of the Seas The Monarch of the Seas napping, and lounging on deck chairs, Nanny telling me stories the whole time. Nanny chilling on the deck of the Monarch of the Seas! I love hearing all about her life in Ireland and Australia, her courtship with my American soldier grandfather, her early days in America as a war bride.  We were really excited because our cruise schedule said there was to be an afternoon tea.  We were expecting hot tea and little pastries.  Apparently “afternoon tea” means something different to Royal Caribbean.  Instead of a proper tea it was a snack buffet with ice cream and make your own tea.  Sigh.

That night’s shows were awesome! First was comedian and magician John Ferrentino.  He was hilarious! Nanny really enjoyed the show as well.  We managed to get great seats and we stayed put after the comedy/magic show so we’d have a good seat for the next show.  We enjoyed a cocktail  in between shows and tried to take a picture of ourselves.  That didn’t work out too well!

Next up was the Love & Marriage show.  They have one of these on every cruise I think, and they NEVER disappoint!  Each show is different because the contestants are different.  It’s sort of like a version of The Newlywed Game except in addition to a newlywed couple, there’s a couple who’ve been married for a LONG time (in our case it was 60 years!) and a couple who’ve been married a middle amount of time (12 years at our show).  All of the couples were just great, but the older couple stole the show!  One question the men had to answer was what size bra your wife wears.  The 90 year old man answered 12!  Ha!  And when asked what color underwear was his wife wearing at that moment he answered CLEAR!  Awesome!  Our sides were aching from laughing so hard at that show!

When we got back to our room that night we had to take our night time pills, but we needed some food to go with them so we ordered room service.  That’s one thing I LOVE about cruises, the free room service!  I called and placed our order and the little guy said it would be 30 minutes.  Nanny and I were playing Phase 10 in our night shirts and panties when all of the sudden, only about 5 minutes after I’d placed our order, someone knocked on our door.  I looked through the peephole and it was the room service guy! I panicked and just opened the door, no pants and all.  He had a huge tray and the cabin was really narrow and small so I just turned around and led him in to the room to put the tray down on the table.  That poor room service boy didn’t know where to look.  Poor guy made such a show of looking at the ceiling the whole time he situated the tray then sped out the door as fast as he could.  Nanny laughed the entire time.

Thursday was our day at sea.  We slept a little late then enjoyed a leisurely breakfast before we went to play bingo. Bingo on the Monarch of the Seas It was win a cruise bingo, someone could win a 5 night cruise!  They were having a special buy 2 get 1 free on the bingo cards so we stocked up and got the 3.  When I say 3 I mean 3 packets of bingo sheets with 6 cards on each sheet.Playing bingo on the Monarch of the Seas It was a full time job trying to scan all my cards AND repeat the called numbers to Nanny each time a new one came up.  It was a lot of fun though and one lucky lady actually walked away with a 5 night cruise!  So jealous!  After bingo we went to lunch then to the theatre to see The Proposal.   The whole way through lunch and on the way to the theatre I was trying to explain the premise behind the movie to Nanny.  All she was focused on was that Betty White was in the movie and it must be the Betty White movie that Nanny saw on tv just last week no matter how I tried much I explained it was just in theatres.  We settled in for the movie and she laughed her way through it.  When it was over I asked how did she like the movie.  “It was really cute, but it wasn’t the Betty White movie I saw on tv.”  Oy.

We took a nap after the movie and before dinner.  Dinner was a bit bittersweet because we had to say goodbye to our table mates.  We really lucked out with Frank & Cynthia.  They are so sweet!  Once dinner was over it was time to pack up all of our things and put our luggage out for the porters to gather up.  We were asleep early because we had to be up extra early the next morning.

Friday we were up at 6:30 for breakfast and debarkation.  Everything went really smoothly and we were off the ship and on the road before we knew it!  I swear I could still feel the ship rocking a couple days later!  We had a great time and I’m so pleased that I was able to spend that time with Nanny. Towel monkey & Nanny on the Monarch of the Seas She took me on my first cruise when I was 7 years old, another when I was 15, and now we’ve shared this one too.  She’s 86 so who knows how many more years she’ll be able to travel.  So I’m so glad we were able to take this cruise!

See all the pictures here!

4 thoughts on “Still cruising

  1. What a fun time Shannon! That’s so awesome that you take those cruises together. She’s sounds like such a fun and sweet lady.

  2. That sounds like so much fun. I sure do miss my grandmother. I would have loved to travel with her now. I’m so glad you are able to spend that quality time with her.

Comments are closed.