The Irish hit the high seas

For the last few months I’ve been planning a trip to see my 86 year old Irish grandma, Nanny. Nanny lives in Florida in the town where I was born. She’s been feeling a little restless lately and told me she’d like to go on a cruise. Unfortunately a cruise was just not in the budget. But I told her I’d look up some cruises online anyway. Thankfully our eMac didn’t die until after I did my research. I knew we’d want to sail out of Tampa or Port Canaveral, both easy drives from Nanny’s house. Nanny wanted to cruise in November along the same time line that I would have been visiting her. So I looked for a 3-5 day cruise. People, I hit the jackpot! I found a Royal Caribbean 4 night cruise to Nassau & Coco Cay for just $139 each! When you add taxes & port charges it came out to $207 each. That’s just $52 a night! You can’t get a decent hotel room for $52 a day! And my “hotel” comes with 3 meals, entertainment, and takes me to islands!
I’m excited. Nanny & I haven’t cruised together since I was 15, and that cruise included our entire family. This time it will just be her & I. I’m really looking forward to it. I’ll spend a couple days with her in Florida before & after the cruise. Then I’ll be home with a week to get ready to host Thanksgiving at my house. Busy month ahead!

*** I found the cruise deal at Cruise.com but it was a Royal Caribbean deal. I know that part of the reason it’s so cheap is that we’re sailing during an off time. 2 weeks before Thanksgiving & all the kids are in school. Plus it was a last minute thing. I’m sure there are cabins available if you’d like to join us!

7 thoughts on “The Irish hit the high seas

  1. You almost always make me smile, but every single time you mention the Irish I no longer think of Notre Dame. Oh, no. Now I think of bread & butter. And now? I am sorely disappointed that there was no mention of bread or butter in this post. Do you think you could edit it and somehow incorporate them? Just kidding. Have fun!

Comments are closed.