Emotional pariah

It’s been kinda quiet around here lately. The phone hasn’t been ringing as much as it usually does. And when I have talked to girlfriends it’s stiff and weird.  One of my more forthright gfriends said to me “People don’t know what to say to you” and I guess that’s true.  So instead of saying the wrong thing, they aren’t saying anything.  Here’s the deal…We lost a baby.  But we knew going into it that that risk was there.  It happened, I grieved, and now we’re moving on.  Yes, it sucks.  But it’s not the end of my world.  I feel like my infertility and our adoption issues are viewed as sort of an exotic disease.  People are curious about it and want to ask questions but don’t want to upset me.  So as a PSA I say to you all…Behold! I am ok.  I’m still a little sad, but I’m getting better every day.  There are lots of other things we can talk about, but if you have a question about the baby drama, go ahead and ask.  I won’t melt into a puddle of tears.  And shoot, anything would be better than this ghost town I’ve been living in.  You can take off the kid gloves, I’m still me and I’m fine.

