Hitting another wall

My agency posted an update today on their website regarding adoptions in Guatemala.  It’s not good.  I don’t know what we’re going to do.  I haven’t told CSP yet.  He’s at work tonight and won’t be home til late.  I’ll tell him then.  It’s looking like if we want to adopt at all then we’ll need to come up with another plan, go with another country within our agency or abandon our agency and lose all our money.  UGH!  OR we can hang in there indefinitely and hope that Guatemala will get it together.  We just really feel like God led us to Guatemala.  I’m so frustrated and sad.  I just don’t know what to do.  It just doesn’t feel like I’m ever going to be a mom.

Guatemala Adoption Reform Fact Sheet

Since early 2006, the State Department has repeatedly issued warnings to prospective adoptive parents and the U.S. public about the uncertainties of adopting from Guatemala. The Government of Guatemala (GOG) acceded to the Hague Convention in March 2003, and then reaffirmed its commitment to the Convention in June 2007.

Convention-implementing legislation passed on December 11, 2007 radically changed Guatemalan adoption procedure, as well as the Guatemalan child welfare system. Under the former system, adoptions in Guatemala were done almost entirely by private attorneys with little to no government oversight. Under the new legislation, the adoption process is controlled by a Central Authority, the National Council on Adoption (CNA), which oversees adoption service providers. The GOG has had insufficient time to build the capacity to implement the reform legislation. Presently, Guatemala does not and cannot meet its Convention obligations because it does not have a Convention-compliant adoption process in place.

  • USCIS is not processing I-800 petitions as of April 1, 2008 because the State Department is unable to verify, as required by Section 301(a) of the Intercountry Adoption Act (IAA), that the requirements of the Hague Convention have been met.
  • Guatemala has agreed to process to completion pending adoptions or “transition cases” (those initiated in Guatemala before the new law went into effect December 31, 2007). However, new requirements have been added that have thus far restricted the flow of cases and has caused some pending cases to be rejected.
  • The Department continues to monitor the adoption practices of Guatemala and urge the PGN not to raise unnecessary barriers for these cases.
  • We cannot yet predict when we will be able to start processing new adoptions from Guatemala.
13 thoughts on “Hitting another wall

  1. What are the different places you can adopt from? I wouldn’t pull out because that would be a waste of money and you both have worked so hard for this… but does your agency only do forgin adpotions or do they do state side ones as well? Hang in there!

  2. I am so sorry, I know this has to be hard news to hear. What about that other country (Kyrgastan-sp) you were looking into? Doesn’t your agency have some kind of a refund policy (at least partial)?

  3. I have heard and actually researched a bit that adopting from Brazil is easier than most countries. The only downside is that you have to stay in the country a month when you pick up your baby or child. The babies usually range from 1 year on up. Good luck to you.

  4. I am sorry to hear the news. Hang in there..I still whole heartedly support your decision to adopt from there. You and Jon are strong and can hold on to see this through. <>

  5. Ok, waiting stinks/sucks. And it’s not easy (maybe even impossible) for us to understand in the moment what God’s intentions are. Maybe God led you to Guatemala so you’d wait – because maybe your baby hasn’t been born yet. That was certainly the case when we submitted our paperwork to China for Lydia. It was a almost a whole year after we submitted paperwork before she was even born. I’ll be praying for you. It’s unlikely to fix your situation to your satisfaction in this moment, but it’ll bear fruit eventually. Love to you, CSP & the puglets.

  6. Oh Sweetie…This is horrible. I wouldn’t pull out. Don’t lose that money or the baby girl there. Everything happens for a reason.

  7. I’m a reader of your blog – I came from Michele’s page. My heart is breaking for you, it’s so disapointing to get news like that. Don’t lose sight of your goals on this huge speed bump.

  8. darlin, first BIG HUGS.. and possibly chocolate. I wish I had magic words for you. Only that I love yall, and that I support whatever decision you make.

  9. I just wanted to say that maybe your second child could be from Guatemala. They have so many problems (and the US is cracking down so hard on so many countries right now) maybe it’s not the best thing to wait on them to open up-just my opinion of course. I wish you luck, I know how stressful this whole process is!

Comments are closed.