Zoe’s got an outie

I have SO MUCH TO TELL YOU, but Zoe’s story is taking first place today. I took Zoe down to the vet on Wednesday morning for her spay. -Tangent- how weird is it that some people have said things like “aw, you’re really going to spay her?” like it’s a bad thing. I mean, spaying your dog is one of the best things you can do for her. I even had a couple people suggest I breed her a few times first, you know, to make a little extra cash. Um, no thanks. Our pugs are our pets, our furry children. Not little cash machines.

Anyway, I picked her up on Thursday to bring her home and heard all about how she charmed everyone in the vet’s office. We came home and she was thrilled to see her sisters. She settled down and all was well that evening.

Friday I was still feeling icky (had been all week) so CSP made me go to the doctor. Sure enough I have a double ear infection and a sinus infection. After the dr we went by Target to pick up my prescriptions and a few things. Went home, had dinner, the usual stuff. Zoe was still doing great. Taking her meds like a champ. So that night I went to Christina’s for movie night. I had just sat down when my phone rang. It was CSP.

You have to come home.

What’s going on?

Zoe busted her staples and her innards are coming out.

What? No way. Are you joking?

No. Come home.

I told Christina what he said and asked if she had an emergency vet as we don’t have one yet up here in our new town. She didn’t but she grabbed the phone book and we just started calling, going down the list. I was still in shock. I just couldn’t believe that would happen. This isn’t the movies. We found an emergency vet that was open, I told them the deal, and I drove home to pick up CSP & Zoe. Luckily Christina just lives a mile up the road so I was home in a hurry.

As soon as I saw Zoe I was a mess. It was horrible. I wrapped her in a blanket and held her and cried all the way to the emergency vet. CSP drove and kept one hand on her the entire time. At one point she started shaking and I thought that was it, that she was going to die in my arms. I was a wreck. I know that some people don’t understand such an attachment to a pet, but our pugs have been such a blessing to us. They have let us nurture them and parent them while we’re trying to become parents. Dealing with our infertility would have been so much more difficult without them.

I swear it felt like the vet was a million miles away. I could feel fluid and blood seeping through my shirt, but I couldn’t look at it. We finally made it in and they came out and scooped her up and took her right back. I was covered in blood & fluid. They took us to an exam room and a couple minutes later the vet came in and told us they were going to do surgery right away, that she would have to spend the night. And that was it. Now we had to go home. So we did.

I couldn’t stand the thought of just sitting there thinking about Zoe. Christina told me to just come back over and we’d watch a movie to get my mind off it. The vet called later and reported that Zoe was doing just fine. CSP & I still couldn’t get to sleep til almost 4. I was just worried about her. Poor thing, only 6 months old and having 2 overnight stays in a vet’s office in a week. They called at 6 am and told us we could come back and get her. We had to wait until the stores opened though. We wanted to pick up a crate that was smaller than the one we normally use because we wanted her to stay still and not be able to jump or anything.

We picked her up and she just squealed and covered us with kisses. They put a big, blue e-collar on her. She gets great reception Zoe in her e-collarWe stopped by Petsmart on the way home to get the crate. She’s been resting in her crate since. We take her out of course for potty breaks and to eat and take her meds. I hate that she’s in there all alone (she’s in the guest room so she doesn’t get overly excited seeing the other pugs), but I know it’s best for her. Jeesh, what a scare.Zoe as blue sunflower

18 thoughts on “Zoe’s got an outie

  1. AKK!! Oh my gosh! Im so sorry you had to go through that! Poor sweet baby. I know that little power house is miserable all cooped up.. but you are a good mama to keep her quiet. Hopefully she will be healing quickly and out flying around the house soon! BIG hugs to you and Jon.

  2. Yikes!!! That sounds just awful (I was cringing and crossing my legs as I read, but I am admittedly a huge wimp). Sending you all good thoughts and huge gentle hugs.

  3. omg I am so glad she is ok… and I am so glad you didn’t breed her etc… and that she is just a pet… but I hope she is healing up well and you and jon have had a chance to relax now!

  4. I’m glad she’s ok. That happened to a Cairn Terrier pup when I worked for the vet. She chewed out her stitches. She was fine too, when it was all over. I hope your little girl gets well, soon!

  5. wow, that sounds horrible. But I am so glad there was a happy ending. ANd I am dying of curiosity about why you said you HAVE SO MUCH TO TELL us.

  6. Oh wow!! That is awful!!! I am so glad she is doing alright!! Poor thing.. when Indy had her spaying done, they glued her skin shut.. wierd huh?

  7. Oh my Goodness! I hope she is doing better! That is scary.I remember Willow had something similar to this but not a near as bad! and to think poor you having to deal with all this with a double ear infection.

  8. Poor baby! I’m glad Zoe’s OK now. I would have been a mess, too. My kitty is my child, so I completely understand. Hope you are feeling better, too. {HUGS}

  9. OMG, Shanny!!! You poor thing (((Hugs))) I feel horrible for you, what a scare to have to go through. And poor little Zoe! Are you upset at the first vet at all? Or do you think the stitches came out because of something Zoe did? I mean – is it like a malpractice thing or just rambunctiousness of a puppy?

    Nevertheless, those pictures are adorable with the GIANT blue saucer around her neck!!!

  10. OMG! I’m so glad she’s ok! I would me a mess too. This sure doesn’t help me look forward to getting Mea spayed in a few months… That’s the trouble with spay surgery vs getting a male dog neutered. Poor little girl.

Comments are closed.