What do you call….

Where did you grow up: Lakeland, FL 0-3, Suburbs of Columbia, SC 3-17 (summers in Lakeland), then Charlotte, NC

WHAT DO YOU CALL:

1. A body of water, smaller than a river, contained within relatively narrow banks.
creek. pronounced creek, not crick.

2. Whats the thing you push around the grocery store is called.
buggy

3. A metal container to carry a meal in.
lunch box

4. The thing that you cook bacon and eggs in.
frying pan

5. The piece of furniture that seats three people.
sofa

6. The device on the outside of the house that carries rain off the roof.
rain gutter

7. The covered area outside a house where people sit in the evening.
gazebo, unless it’s the attached, covered area then it’s the porch

8. Carbonated, sweetened, non-alcoholic beverages.
coke

9. A flat, round breakfast food served with syrup.
pancakes

10. A long sandwich designed to be a whole meal in itself.
a sub

11. The piece of clothing worn by men at the beach.
trunks

12. Shoes worn for sports.
tennis shoes

13. Putting a room in order.
cleaning or straighten up

14. A flying insect that glows in the dark.
lightening bug

15.The children’s playground equipment where one kid sits on one side and goes up while the other sits on the other side and goes down.
see-saw

16. How do you eat your pizza?
with my hands but no folding!

17. What’s it called when private citizens put up signs and sell their used stuff?
yard sale

18. What’s the evening meal?
dinner

19. What do you call the thing that you can get water out of to drink in public places?
water fountain

20. What do you call the clothing covering for legs worn on the outside?
pants

Thanks Rachel!

Anyone else have different answers?

8 thoughts on “What do you call….

  1. Born and raised in NJ and all my answers are the same, except we use a grocery cart in the stores (with a play car attached in front if Miss Kelsey has her way).

    And yes, soft drinks are diet coke (preferably with lime) but in the north we call it soda.

    See? Deep down inside we’re all the same!

  2. hmmm.. you DRINK a POP. You push a CART and you ride a teeter totter. You eat pizza with a FORK ,. you drink out of a drinking fountain.and you sit on the couch 🙂

    None of my answers ever identify me as coming from anywhere specific. Since alaskans are from all over.. and my mother is from the midwest and my daddy is from the south.. Im confused 🙂

  3. I am with Mamamichele. Pop. cart, fork, drinking fountain, couch.

    I was born in a wee litty bitty Podunk town in Iowa, moved to Germany and have been in AZ since 1981.

  4. LOL. This is too funny. Since hubby is from the south, we always differ on these things. He doesn’t have much of a S. accent, but some things come out very funny like pool ends up sounding like POLE

    I went through them with him and we pretty much had typical answers. I would have said “couch” for sofa and I was telling Matt that my grandma (from TX) would have called it a “divan” or “devan” (don’t know how you would spell it!). I had a friend who called the drinking fountain a “bubbler.” Think she was from Pittsburgh.

  5. Ha ha Yes! Dinner is Supper and Lunch box is Lunch pail!

    At least around “my neck of the woods”, but other than that the same!

  6. My only differences were I sit on a COUCH and I fry bacon & eggs in a SAUTE PAN. Also, I eat my pizza with my hands but folded in half a-la New-York style.

  7. 2. grocery cart
    5. couch
    8. pop
    11. swim suit
    12. running shoes or runners
    14. firefly
    15. teeter-totter
    18. supper

  8. Pingback: Are You Kidding Me? « Leaping Before I Look

Comments are closed.

