Final Florida Fun Day

Day 6- Saturday

Saturday we woke up and went into town. On the way there we drove through the back roads of Longboat Key Club and saw some of the private homes there. Ginormous mansion in Longboat Key Club Amazing that people live in them and that they aren’t like hotels. Ginormous mansion in Longboat Key Club We went to St. Armand’s Circle and had breakfast at the Blue Dolphin Cafe. This is quite possibly one of the top 5 most delicious things I have ever eaten in my entire life. Papa & Gigi both felt the same way. We all shared it. It’s a ginormous Belgian waffle with mango, pineapple, coconut, whipped cream, and syrup. I swear, I would make the drive again just for that waffle. Best damn waffle ever After breakfast we walked around St. Armand’s Circle St. Armand's Circle and looked in the cute little shops. Love this gator guy we saw outside of one of the shops in St. Armand's CircleWe picked up a few souvenirs for CSP & Momo then went back to the hotel. After a nap we went swimming in the ocean some more then got cleaned up for dinner. We had dinner that night at The Grille at Longboat Key Club and Resort. Quite fancy. I’m fairly sure I was the youngest person there by far. Papa & Gigi were next in line. Let’s just say most of the folks dining there probably thought they were out really late at 8 pm! Papa & Gigi wouldn’t let me take any photos of our dinner that night since it was so swank. But let me just tell you, OMG, I swear my dinner was just ridiculous it was so good. Hands down one of the best meals ever. I had pork chops with a mango chutney and spaghetti squash that was just out of this world. And I even had a glass of wine. My first ever in a restaurant. I’m such a big girl now! It was a riesling that Papa & Gigi tried and hated because it was so sweet. I’m so not a wine drinker but I loved this stuff. I tried to google it but I must not have the spelling correct of the winery. Oh well, it seems I left my society life back in Florida! Ha!

We went back to the hotel to go to bed and saw all the cars leaving the big event! The Sarasota Film Festival had been going on all week and there was a ball Saturday night. Charlize Theron was even at our hotel Saturday! The Festival wrapped up Saturday with a huge gala. I didn’t spot her, but we sure did see all the limos. Here’s a link to a picture of Charlize & Stuart on the red carpet at the gala. If you look reeeeealllly closely you won’t see me because it was $300 a plate and well, I’m apparently not as famous as I think I am. Apparently Stanly Tucci & Steve Buscemi were both also there. I wish I could have spoken with Steve. CSP & I have always disagreed on how to pronounce Buscemi.

We didn’t stay up too late because the next morning we had to get up early to head home. It was so beautiful there it was really hard to leave. Seriously. Plus the ocean water works wonders on my excema. If only I didn’t have to worry about sunburn at the same time. I’d swim at night but there are sharks and whatnot. I really hope to get back to Longboat Key someday! More photos here!

3 thoughts on “Final Florida Fun Day

  1. That waffle looks amazing! I want one–wanna meet there for a waffle?!

    And those houses are CRAZY! What can one family possibly do with all that space? What a waste of natural resources!

Comments are closed.